Roasted Butternut Squash & Lentil Curry!

Tonight i made an epic easy curry but thought i would share with you a little bit of my day first!

I spent parts of my day doing this…

I think Rowan is having a growth spurt and has wanted feeding a lot today, he also hardly had any naps which wasn’t like him and has been a bit niggly – he is now sleeping well however and is tucked up in his bed beside me – phew!!

It’s tough being a mommy you know? You have to look at an adorable face like this all day!…

After a slow morning, Rowan and I met friends for lunch – we went to a local coffee shop called Thyme

This was my third visit, i previously went when i was pregnant and really enjoyed their fresh sandwiches, but today their small homity pie took my fancy…

and it didn’t disappoint! The pastry was light and fluffy, the inside of the pie was moist with large chunks of potato and just enough garlic not to offend! I enjoyed the small side salad too – i washed this down with a lovely fair trade cup of tea.

After lunch i said goodbye to my friends and then walked around town trying to get Rowan to go to sleep – he didn’t! He was quite happy taking in all his surroundings and looking cute at every mature lady that said hello to him! I had a quick look around Holland and Barrat and bought some whole green lentils for my curry and some reduced Rice Dream milk – it goes out of date on next Tuesday but i will use it all in my green smoothies before then.

I then ventured over the road to the local health store called Ganesha – i prefer it to H&B as it has more variety and brands. I treated myself to some Faith in Nature Face Polish

Exfoliating Face & Body Polish refines your skin’s surface by removing dead skin cells, whilst gently polishing and leaving the skin feeling smooth, soft and revitalised. Contains Blackcurrant exfoliant and Organic Calendula, which has restorative and soothing properties.

Exfoliating Face & Body Polish

Since all my lovely pregnancy hormones have gone my skin has gone back to being dull and spotty (and my hair fine and greasy boo hoo!) so thought this polish may be what i am looking for! I’m trying to cut down on the chemicals i put on my skin as a recent report found that 40 women who had breast cancer had parabens found inside all of their tumours!! Read about it here. I will do a review in a week on this product so i can give it time to work (hopefully).

What i also like about Ganesha is the staff are so knowledgeable and are so happy to help with any queries, i asked the lady today if she could recommend a tea for myself to aid breastfeeding – i realised i am drinking ALOT of tea and coffee in the day and am worried that the caffeine is getting transferred to Rowan – the lady straight away suggested Fennel tea but also went on their database to check for other herbs and teas. I love fennel so bought a box…

I have just consumed my first cup whilst typing up this post, it was delicious! I love the liquorice taste!

Right, now onto tonight dinner…

Roasted Butternut Squash & Lentil Coconut Curry

Ingredients:

  • 1 Butternut Squash
  • 1 Courgette
  • 1 cup broccoli
  • half cup mushrooms
  • 1 cup whole green lentils
  • 1 medium onion
  • 3-4 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 tsp chilli
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp corriander
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree
  • 1 tin coconut milk

Instructions:

1. Drizzle the butternut squash and courgette with olive oil and sea salt and roast in the over (190c) for 40-45 minutes;

2. Prepare the sauce using the following ingredients;

In a pan heat a little oil and fry the onions on high for a few minutes so they start to soften. Next add the garlic and chilli and after 30 seconds turn the heat down low so the ingredients does not burn. Add the spices and tomato puree, also add 2 tbsp of water to help the spices infuse and not burn;

This creates a curry base and can be used for a multitude of dishes. I chose to add coconut milk to mine but you can add passata to make a tomato dish or stock for a soup etc

Next add the coconut milk & lentils and leave on a low heat until the veggies are roasted (approx 30 mins), stir regularly;

After 20 mins on the heat, add florets of broccoli so they have time to soften (you may want to add milk if the sauce is too thick). Once the butternut squash and courgette is roasted add this to the mixture also;

Stir the mixture gently as the roasted vegetables can be quite soft. In another pan, heat some oil and fry approx 3-4 mushrooms until they are browned.

Serve the curry with rice and the mushrooms sprinkled on top (& optional creme fraiche);

Delightful!

Night all!

Leave a Reply

